Who’s the early favorite to win the NL Cy Young award?

It’s only mid-June, but the National League Cy Young award race couldn’t be tighter. Although some may think it’s a two person race between Chicago Cubs ace Jake Arrieta, and Los Angeles Dodgers lefty Clayton Kershaw, a closer look shows a few more legitimate candidates. Let’s start with last year’s winner: Jake Arrieta.

It took Arrieta until the end of June to suffer his first loss of the season. It was also the first losing decision he had in his last 20 starts. But on the year, hes 10-1 with a 1.86 ERA. He’s also 5th in the N.L. in WHIP.

Kershaw is leading the National League in WHIP, ERA and also is the leader in strike outs. His 9 wins is also near the top of the leader board. Once you get past those two, there’s a number of pitchers that are pushing their way into the conversation.

Fresh off a $175 million contract extension, Washington Nationals pitcher Stephen Strasburg is 10-0 with a 3.03 ERA and and 110 strike outs. Madison Bumgarner has had a strong year for the San Francisco Giants, posting a 1.88 ERA and a 7-2 record. And don’t forget about his teammate Johnny Cueto, who’s 9-1 with a 2.16 ERA.

The point is, many may think it’s a forgone conclusion that the Cy Young award winner will be either Arrieta or Kershaw, but this year’s pitching class is one of the strongest in recent memory. That, combined with many teams in the N.L. “tanking” should make this a wide open race.

Who do you think is going to win?




Eric Solomon has worked in various newsrooms in Chicago. He brings his experience to Sporting Vote, where he writes for the NFL, NBA and MLB. Eric is an avid Chicago sports fan, and hopes the Cubs don’t blow it this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *